Louis Vuitton Pacific Series
Louis Vuitton

Louis Vuitton Pacific Series

Regular price $550.00

The Louis Vuitton Pacific Series was a new event created to re-engage sailors and the public while the "Battle of the Billionaires between Larry Ellison and Ernesto Bertarellli" was waged in the New York State Supreme Court following the 32nd America's Cup. 

On February 14, 2009, all eyes were on the team that claimed the gleaming prize - Emirates Team New Zealand.

For a quarter century between 1983 and 2007, a field of international teams battled for the Louis Vuitton Cup in order to qualify for the most prestigious competition, the America's Cup. More often than not, Louis Vuitton Cup winners went on to win the America's Cup.

When the image of the America's Cup was tarnished and uncertain, Louis Vuitton withdrew its support. The withdrawal was painful for sailing's iconic patrons as well as for the world's top sailing teams.

As the suffering reached its height, the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series was created in Auckland. The first series was in Auckland in 2009.

On November 26, 2010, at the conclusion of the Louis Vuitton Trophy Dubai, Louis Vuitton announced that it would be the official timekeeper of the America's Cup. Once again, an international field of challengers would compete in the Louis Vuitton Cup on the way to the America's Cup.

Azzura won the Nice event.
Emirates Team New Zealand won the Auckland event.
Emirates Team New Zealand won the La Maddalena, Sardinia event.
Emirates Team New Zealand won the Dubai event.

Share this Product

More from this collection